Our daughters are not cancer deaths waiting to happen

“I have had so many young girls come to me and say, ‘I’m so happy, I’m one less!’ And I said what do you mean you’re one less? ‘I got Gardasil, so I’m one less cancer death.’ And I said you know if you got your paps smears you would never have been a cancer death.

The concept that our daughters are cancer deaths waiting to happen is just not accurate. Our death rate in the United States from cervical cancer is 3 per 100,000. They have a much higher chance of being a motor vehicle accident death than they do being a cervical cancer death.

Merck was so egregious in their advertising and so aggressive, even though very specifically true, nothing in their advertisement was false, it was false in its overall impression. We don’t know yet what is going to happen when millions of doses of the vaccine have been given.”

—Diane Harper, MD, MPH, MS, lead researcher for Gardasil vaccine trials

Leave a Reply

