What medical school taught me about vaccines meant that I was clueless

“What I was taught about vaccines and immunity [in medical school] meant that I had absolutely no idea what I was talking about and left me blinded when confronted with the real world. And this is still the case with the majority of medical professionals today who are at the frontline of patient care. I knew nothing about vaccine manufacture, contents, risks or history.

We had been told historical factoids about Jonas Salk inventing one polio vaccine and Albert Sabin the other, and that smallpox and polio were supposedly eradicated by vaccination. I certainly knew nothing about the developing immune system. After being handed the schedule of vaccines for kids during my pediatrics rotations, I was told to give them on time.

That was the extent of my knowledge [about vaccines and vaccination].”

— Suzanne Humphries, MD

Leave a Reply

